Around 62% of Americans drink alcohol.
In the United States, 40% of drinkers choose beer. Meanwhile, 30% of drinkers choose wine while 26% prefer liquor. Regardless of your alcohol preference, you want to make sure you have access to booze on your Philadelphia vacation.
Here’s what you should know about Pennsylvania alcohol laws:
Pennsylvania Alcohol Laws: Beer
As of recently, buying beer in PA has become easier. There are over 660 gas station locations that sell wine and beer. You’re allowed to buy up to 2 six packs or 3 liters of wine.
If you want to buy more than 12 beers on most days, you have to buy from a licensed beer distributor, between 8am and 11pm. On Sunday, you only have between noon and 9pm to buy bigger cases of beer.
You’re only able to purchase packaged alcoholic beverages besides beer in state-owned stores.
Other beverage distributor stores can sell beer and malt liquor, but not wine. Always ask beforehand if you’re not sure.
Bars and Restaurants
Enjoy a steak dinner with drinks in Philadelphia.
Bars and restaurants can serve alcoholic beverages between 7am and 2am on Monday through Saturday. On Sunday, these establishments can only serve alcohol between 11am and 2pm.
These hours change on holidays, so be careful about waiting until the “day of” to buy beer.
You can also get beers from bars. This includes having beers in the bar and take-home beers. Bars sell six packs you can take home.
PA liquor laws have recently become more lenient. It’s easier than ever to get liquor, but there are still certain things you should know.
According to Pennsylvania liquor laws, you can only buy liquor in state-owned liquor stores. If you’re feeling thirsty or with a group, be sure to stock up on alcohol when you have the chance.
On Monday through Saturday, liquor store hours range from 9am to 10pm.
In 2016, Pennsylvania started allowing liquor stores to be open on Sundays. There are over 320 liquor stores open on Sundays in Pennsylvania. Sunday liquor store hours usually average from 11am to 7pm.
People under the age of 21 years old are allowed to enter liquor stores with a parent or guardian. However, they’re not allowed to buy anything.
Alcohol and Driving
You should never drive under the influence of alcohol or any other substance. Not in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, or anywhere else.
By law, anyone over 21 years old with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 percent or above can’t drive a vehicle or operate machinery. That’s the legal limit in PA. If you get caught, you could face jail time and fines.
If you ever get arrested for drinking and driving in Philadelphia, contact a Philadelphia criminal lawyer for help.
Enjoy Your Philadelphia Vacation
If you’re under 21, you can get arrested for driving while blowing a BAC of .02% or over. Familiarize yourself with Pennsylvania liquor laws before your trip so you don’t get in trouble.
Getting a DUI in Pennsylvania can follow you back to your home state. Plus, you’ll have to come back to Pennsylvania for court and pay fines. Spare yourself the misery by not drinking and driving.
Upgrade your life and learn more lifestyle tips. It’s the best thing you’ll ever do for yourself.
Leave a Reply