It’s the weekend and you’re having a few drinks with friends. You feel fine and you get behind the wheel. Suddenly you’re being pulled over and are shocked when you are arrested for a DUI.
It may seem like an overreaction because you felt perfectly safe driving home, but the numbers say otherwise. Almost 8,500 people died in DUI accidents in Florida between 2003 and 2012. With numbers like these, it’s only natural that the government would crack down on intoxicated driving — even if you feel fine, you’re still impaired.
One of the punishments for getting a DUI in Florida is the loss of your driver’s license. If you’re wondering how to get yours back, you’re in the right place. Read on to learn how!
1. Apply for a Hardship Licence if Necessary
The state revoking your driver’s license can be more than a mere inconvenience, it can affect your ability to support yourself. People in big cities are able to get to work via a public transportation system or rideshare services, but if you live in a rural area or far away from your employer, losing your license could mean losing your job.
If this is the case for you, there are loopholes through which you can still use your car to drive to work. In order to get a hardship license, you must apply for it in your county. You will also have to complete an education course and submit your driving record.
2. Complete Any Court-Ordered DUI Treatment
Whether you were drinking and driving or driving under the influence of drugs, it’s important that you fully comply with any court-ordered DUI treatment. Treatment facilities do more than help you detox from drugs or alcohol. They also teach you how to get through life without relying on drugs and alcohol as a coping mechanism.
Take the treatment seriously and you may find yourself living a better life post-treatment.
3. Complete Any Court-Ordered DUI School
The judge who revoked your license may also ask that you complete a DUI educational course. Depending on how many prior offenses you’ve had, it can cost you around $300 to $400. The school will report to the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles once you’ve completed the course(s).
4. Apply for Your License to Be Reinstated
Once you’re allowed to get your license back, you’ll want to go to your local Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles to apply for it. You’ll need to take an examination and pay an administrative fee, revocation reinstatement fee, and a license fee.
You’ll also have to submit proof that you carry bodily injury liability insurance of at least $100,000 per person, $300,000 per occurrence, and $50,00 in property damage liability insurance. This is known as FR44 insurance, and it is a must if you want your license back.
Getting a DUI in Florida Isn’t the End of the World
Drunk driving and buzzed driving are highly dangerous activities that have the potential to harm a lot of people, including you. Getting a DUI in Florida is not the worst thing that could have happened. Now that you’re eligible to have your license reinstated, you should be careful to not get behind the wheel if you’ve had anything to drink.
This is your second chance!
Now that you’re back on track, you might need more helpful articles about everything from health and fitness to lifestyle. If so, you’ve come to the right place! Check out the rest of our blog for everything you need to live your best life.
Leave a Reply